Your councillors

Mayor of Hackney

Hackney’s executive Mayor Philip Glanville was directly elected by the borough in 2022. He is the political leader of the Council, overseeing the budget and all Council services.

Civic and ceremonial duties

  • civic and ceremonial duties are undertaken by the Speaker of Hackney
  • the current Speaker is Cllr Anya Sizer


Councillors by ward

Councillors are elected by residents and serve for 4 years. The last borough-wide elections took place in
May 2022.

Councillors have a range of responsibilities, including helping to oversee Council services. Residents can contact their local representative and ask them to take up issues of concern.

Generally they can help with Council related matters. If the issue is the responsibility of another person or organisation, councillors can often point people in the right direction and tell residents who they need to see.

Hackney has 57 councillors representing areas called wards.

Number of councillors for each Party:

  • Labour Party – 50
  • Green Party – 2
  • Conservative Party – 5

Find your councillor

Search for your councillor by postcode.

Update on surgeries

Ward surgery information are found under your local Councillors profile.

For more information, email your local councillor using the format ‘’

Call 020 8356 3373 to arrange a phone call.





De Beauvoir

Hackney Central

Hackney Downs

Hackney Wick



Hoxton East and Shoreditch

Hoxton West

King's Park

Lea Bridge

London Fields



Stamford Hill West

Stoke Newington


Woodberry Down

Page updated on: 23 May 2023