We’re currently introducing a new design and are making sure everything works.

Register to vote

Register by 26 November to vote in the general election on 12 December.

School streets

School streets is our pioneering scheme to transform roads outside schools, so that only pedestrians and cyclists can use them at school start and finish times.

The streets tackle congestion and improve air quality at the school gates, making it easier and safer to walk and cycle to school.

They create a more pleasant environment for everyone, while making sure residents, businesses, pedestrians and cyclists can still use the road.

School streets in Hackney video

Hear from parents and Heads about the results at their school and about how Hackney is sharing its experience with other local authorities.

How it works

The streets around a school temporarily become pedestrian and cycles only at set times in the morning and afternoon. Vehicles are not permitted to enter the street between these times unless they have been granted an exemption.

You can register for an exemption if you’re a resident living or working in a school street zone, a business in a school street zone, or a blue badge holder.

Signs inform drivers of the restrictions before the entrance to the closed street. Non-registered vehicles entering the street during the times of operation will be identified by camera and issued a fixed penalty notice.

Pilot schools

We’ve piloted school street zones around 5 primary schools, with 4 made permanent so far:

School streets 4-5 (SS4-5) are currently being evaluated. The reports will be published here.

School streets 6 to 9

School streets 10 to 18 (proposed)

  • Betty Layward Community Primary School
  • Colvestone Community Primary School
  • Daubeney Community Primary School
  • Holmleigh Community Primary School
  • Orchard Community Primary School
  • Queensbridge Community Primary School
  • St Monica’s Catholic Voluntary Aided Primary School
  • Sir Thomas Abney Community Primary School
  • Woodberry Down  Community Primary School


Page updated on: 1 November 2019