Hackney schools stars

Thank you to everyone who attended online this year – whether through our event platform or Youtube – and made the evening so special.

It was really uplifting for Mayor Glanville and Chief Executive, Tim Shields, to hear about the fantastic work of everyone shortlisted in 2020/21.

The awards reinforced how special our staff and Schools staff in Hackney are – every day you go above and beyond to help better our borough.

Here are the winners, and shortlisted staff:

Teacher of the year

  • Anna Feltham, Headteacher, Clapton Girls’ Academy
  • Babar Mirza, Headteacher, The Olive School, Hackney
  • Hannah Preedy, History Teacher/ year 7 Tutor, Stoke Newington School & Sixth Form (Winner)
  • Jane Betsworth, Headteacher, Millfields Community School
  • Jo Riley, Headteacher, Randal Cremer Primary School
  • Jo Smith, Deputy Headteacher, St John and St James Hackney

School star

  • Francine Corbin, Curriculum Manager SEND, New City College Hackney
  • Helen Edwards, Academy Business Leaders
  • Katherine Middleton, School Counsellor, Betty Laywood Primary School
  • Kerry Joseph, Business Manager, Jubilee Primary School
  • Lucy Davis, Designated Safeguarding Lead, The Garden School, Hackney
  • Sharon Hussey, Early Years Educator, Wentworth Nursery School and Children’s Centre (Winner)
  • Paul Ebblewhite, Data Manager, Clapton Girls School

Lifetime achievement

  • Betty Ukwunnah, Teaching Assistant, Gainsborough Primary School (Winner)
  • Teresa Brown, Teaching Assistant, Haggerston School
Page updated on: 8 July 2021