We’re currently introducing a new design and are making sure everything works.

Register to vote

Register by 26 November to vote in the general election on 12 December.

General election 5 May 2005

Hackney South and Shoreditch




Hugh Baylis Liberal Democrats 6,844
Ipemndoh Dan Iyan Green Party 1,779
Monty Goldman Communist Party 200
Meg Hillier Labour and Co-Operative Party 17,048 (elected)
Jonty Leff Workers Revolutionary Party 92
John Moss Conservative Party 4,524
Benjamin Rae Liberal Party 313
Dean Ryan Respect – The Unity Coalition 1,437

Electorate: 64,826
Ballot papers counted: 32,237
Turnout: 49.7%

Hackney North and Stoke Newington




Diane Abbott Labour Party 14,268 (Elected)
Nigel Barrow Official Monster Raving Loony Party 248
James Blanchard Liberal Democrats 6,841
Mischa Borris Green Party 2,907
Ertan Hurer Conservative Party 4,218
Nusrat Sen Socialist Labour Party 296
David Vail Independent 602

Electorate: 59,274
Ballot papers counted: 29,380
Turnout: 49.76%

Page updated on: 2 July 2019

Electoral Registration and Elections Office


Hackney Town Hall
Mare Street
E8 1EA

Opening times

  • Office hours: Mon to Fri, 9am - 5pm. Phone line: 020 8356 3232, Mon to Fri, 8am - 5pm